Regional Collegiate Elections-Votes due by April 30th

This is a VERY important reminder! Collegiate Section Presidents must have their votes cast by next Thursday, April 30th. We are still missing votes from about 12 sections. See below for information about those that are running and the link to the survey monkey:

Region Collegiate Representative  (RCR) – ( vote for 2)
Paige Bowling  – Colorado School of Mines
Stephanie Higgins – Colorado State University

Region Collegiate Communications   ( RCCE) – (vote for 1)
Alyssa  Brewer – Colorado State University
Kate Gonzagowski  – University of Missouri -Kansas City

Region Collegiate Senator ( RCS) ( vote for 1)
Jackie Hernandez   – University of Nebraska – Lincoln

Survey Monkey Link:

SWE Bios and Resumes for each candidate were provided via email. If you did not receive this email, please contact me at

Region i Graduate Member Chairs Meeting

Calling all Region i Graduate Member Chairs (GMC)!  You are invited to join an upcoming call with our Region Graduate Representative (RGR), and the GMCs from other sections around our region.  On the call, we will share ideas and best practices for things you have been doing in your sections related to graduate students.  We will also discuss your thoughts on how the region, and especially the RGR, can best support you and your section.
Date: Wednesday, April 22
Time: 7pm Mountain / 8pm Central
Call in Number: (605) 475-4000
Access Code: 489421#
We’re looking forward to talking with you then!

Region i Elections are coming up!

It’s that time of year again! Region i Collegiate elections for RCS, RCRs and RCCE are coming up in the next couple weeks. SWE Resumes and Biographies will be provided for each candidate is running and votes will be collected via survey. Each section president will select one candidate for RCS and RCCE and two selections for RCR. More information will be provided via email in later this week!

Region i Award Winners

SWE Awards celebrate the lifelong contributions women engineers and technologists make to our society—and our world. We encourage and reward advancements in technological innovation, leadership, education, work/life balance, outreach and diversity. All questions should be sent to

Congratulations to all award winners from iCON15 in Kansas City, MO!

Section Awards

  • Oklahoma State University – Collegiate Section of the Year
  • Kansas City – Professional Section of the Year
  • University of Wyoming – 86% Membership Retention and 100% Membership Growth
  • Eastern Nebraska – 57% Membership Retention
  • Mid-Missouri – 78% Membership Growth
  • Oklahoma City – 78% Membership Growth

Program Awards

  • Oklahoma State University – Collegiate Existing Program of the Year
  • Rocky Mountain – Professional Existing Program of the Year
  • Colorado School of Mines and Rocky Mountain – Joint Program of the Year

Member Awards

  • Kelsey Raus (University of Oklahoma) – Collegiate Member of the Year
  • Casey Waggy (Rocky Mountain) – Distinguished New Engineer

Company Awards

  • Lockheed Martin Corporation – Benefactor of the Year

Region i Scholarship Recipients

Our inaugural SWE scholarship program had many great applications and our judges were impressed with the caliber of the candidates!
The Region i scholarship program is intended to go to one undergraduate student, one graduate student, and one back-to-school professional.  Since all the applicants were in the undergraduate category this year, we were able to award two scholarships.
As announced at the iCON15 awards program, our two scholarship recipients this year were Amanda Smith of Wichita State University and Caley Follmer of Colorado State University.  Congrats!
Scholarship certificates were awarded at the banquet and checks were be mailed after the fact.
Congrats to the winners again!

#SWEiCON15 Registration has been extended until tomorrow!

There is still time! iCON15 Registration has been extended until tomorrow, February 9th along with hotel reservations! Visit to register.

The deadline for submission to the poster competition has also been extended to February 15th!

For those of you that have registered and are getting super excited for iCON15 tweet to @SWERegioni and use ‪#‎SWEiCON15‬ now and throughout the conference.